'poetry, poem

Poem: Welcome to the World

For the first time ever I see your face.

Your soft features, your black curly hair.

You are a beauty to behold.

A miracle of life

A bouncing bundle of tenderness,

An incredibly blank slate

Where fate will be etched upon

By time, it’s carving knife.

As fragile as you are, I imagine

How with passing days and seasons

You will grow to become the person you must become.

If I can influence your imminent future, little one.

I would whispers words of upliftment

I would will pleasant surprises into your future

I would speak encouragement into your life

Carve a path with my voice

Pray a hedge around you

And prepare you for the victory that awaits you, my love.

Victories muddled with challenges but victory all the same.

I used to be scared of holding infants when I was younger.

I thought I would crush their little bodies in one moment of carelessness.

Now I know.

As I stare into these innocent eyes, I know.

There is no safer place than the mothers arms.

Welcome to the World, My Child.

I am your mother.

2 thoughts on “Poem: Welcome to the World”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.