reviews

Review: Avengers EndGame. (SPOILERS!!!)

Am I late? Is the Endgame fever already over? Are the memes still relevant? I always seem to be one step behind all the latest trends. Oh shucks.

Right off the bat, let me just inform you that this post is rated S for Spoilers so if you haven’t watched it yet, head on over to the cinema down the street, give it a watch (or not) and then hop on over here lets gush about it together. But if you don’t really have any emotional investment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, read it anyway. In my expert opinion, this review will make a good read either way. I think.

THE UNADULTERATED NOSTALGIA

I’m not going to waste time on facts that you already know. Like the Marvel Cinematic Universe started in two thousand and whatever with whatever movie by because I’m not a nerd. (I’m just too lazy to do any research) But I’ve pretty much followed the series since its release and as it gained popularity. I remember watching the cartoon series on Disney channel Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes years ago and when the movie came out, I was initially thought it was going to be another cliché superhero movie. But then it wasn’t. I absolutely loved Thor (which is one of my favorite MCU movies till date) so the possibility of having all those characters come together was thrilling to me just as it was to the billions of other MCU fans. The first Avengers’ movie was new for me in the execution of the humor, fast paced action, high stakes. And so naturally, I followed suit in the fandom (not a die-hard fan anyway) The movies started to pop out, one much different from the other and then Guardians of the Galaxy just won me over (another of my favorites.)

No one can deny the that Endgame was brimming with nostalgia. practically took the audience to the place where it all started from. One thing about seeing the same characters over and over again through the course of your life is that you observe them grow as you grow. They become a part of your life. It becomes a story that you have invested so much in and I understand why Endgame got a lot of people got really emotional. .

I didn’t cry or anything while watching the movie but I assure you that I was brimming with nostalgia as the characters moved from one familiar scene to the other. It reminded you, once again, of what you loved so much about the series.

The grand picture of Endgame was much more than just Thanos versus the good guys. At the back of our minds, we all knew that the heroes would find a way to win. Even on the note that Infinity War ended, it was not a matter of if the Avengers would be victorious, but how. And the how entailed heartwarming sacrifices that just opened a new perspective to characters who we have known all this while.

A BITTER-SWEET TASTE OF SACRIFICE

The two major sacrifices were made in this finale: By Tony Stark, the cocky, selfish millionaire who thinks he is smarter than everyone and Natasha Romanoff: A hardcore spy who will not put anything before her mission. When these characters were first introduced, this is how I saw them. But they grew over time revealing their true selves and finally, without hesitation, giving their lives for the greater good. I think the director specifically chose these two characters for their initial lack of nobility. Their demise was a form of redemption. Especially with Natasha who Loki refers to as “her ledger gushing with red.” In the very first Avengers movie. They are not the most ethically solid characters, not like Captain Rogers, who will not hesitate to jump on a grenade or Thor??? who is literally a god. They are both humans, they have no superpower but they make a powerful decision and this transcends their characters from regular humans to true heroes.

EXPECTATIONS VERSUS EXPERIENCE

I tried my best not to invest too much of an emotional attachment when I watched Infinity War. My idea was a much cynical one: it’s all a cash grab. Marvel loves that superhero money and so they will Pixar-ishly play with our heartstrings by taking away our favorite characters. They may have dusted all the characters we love but in the end, they will bring them back one way or another, because without their characters, how can they make more movies and ultimately more money?

But even with that kind of intentional detachment, I still got the feels, the exhilaration, the laughs, and the dynamics of all these different characters working together.

I don’t like when a movie is predictable. I hate it more when a movie does a huge plot twist just for the sake of being unpredictable, but I must say the huge plot twist in Endgame had the effect that I’m sure the movie makers wanted it to have on me. I also liked how they drastically reshaped the characters (especially Thor and Hulk) in a new way that you saw a different side of them without forgetting who they were when you first started to see them on your screens.

The climax of the movie was such a bang that I was literally shaking in response. It was a cinematic bombshell of epic pew-pew proportions. With glorious glorious explosions and rad computer generated fight scenes. Ah! I was truly and utterly entertained in every shape and form. Ubambe!!!

This review has gone on long enough, so I will just conclude that I thoroughly enjoyed Avengers: Endgame. It was exhilarating and funny and nostalgic and a perfect finale to the MCU. Cash grab or not, the movie makers deserve the billions of dollars that is flowing into purses right now.

And that brings us to the end of this review. But before you click away, I want to know your favorite MCU movie and your favorite scene from Endgame. Mine was when Past-Loki poofed away with the Tesseract.

Until next time.                                                                                  

Emah OUT!

2 thoughts on “Review: Avengers EndGame. (SPOILERS!!!)”

  1. There were so many perfect scenes! My favourites have to be when Captain America says ‘Avengers Assemble!’ And when Steve and Peggy finally get their dance! 😍 Looking forward to seeing Loki again too 😁

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.