poem

Poem: Fake Smile

Fake smile
My mask slips off every single time
I’m asked if I’m comfortable in my own skin.

My back hurts
From all the times I carried the weight of comparisons.
Mostly mine but

Who cares?
That’s what I tell myself
When I can barely bear the burden
Of my own perfectionism.

I hate filters.
But I’m constantly wearing a mask of
Please, I’m sorry and thank you.

I hate people.
Because they can always tell
How much I’m holding it in.

Holding back tears and the scorn
Against those who had the guts
To judge me when I judge myself.

Kind eyes.
If only I can see myself the way You see me.
I’ll be just fine, like Psalm one three nine

I don’t have to impress.
Pressed up on your palms
Is an indentation that spells out my name.

Who am I?
Nothing
Can separate me from Your love.

Entangled
In my mother’s cord, You knew
Everything I was and who I would be.

You see beyond my mask.
Enraptured by the vision
Your eyes behold mine

You kiss my tear-streaked cheeks
You’ve searched my heart and you know
The ME behind the mask.

#poem
#poetry
#writersofinstagram

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.